WATCH: Claudia wins the 2017 Malta Eurovision Song Contest

Claudia Faniello wins the 2017 Malta Eurovision Song Contest with the song Breathlessly , author Gerard James Borg and composers by Philip Vella/Sean Vella received the maximum points from the televoting securing a total of 4,996 points. Claudia will represent Malta in the Eurovision Song Contest in Kyiv in May .  

Janice Manigion secured the second place with the song Kewkba, written by Emil Calleja Bayliss and composed by Mark Scicluna.  Janice received 4,544 points.  Kevin Borg received 2,502 points and came third with the song Follow penned and composed by Kevin Borg / Simon Gribbe.

The trophies were presented to the winners by past ambassadors that represented Malta in the Eurovision Song Contest before. The third place was presented by Chiara who represented Malta three times in total. The second runner up was presented by Ira Losco who was the past winner of last year and that represented Malta twice in total. The winner was presented by Mary Spiteri who is considered a role model and an inspiration to many singers. Ambassador Mary Spiteri represented Malta back in 1992 with the song ‘Little Child’